newbie here, any performance mods...

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 08:12 AM
MPG FANATIC WITH GUZZLERS
Default Well, we will just agree to disagree.

Well, I guess we'll just have to disagree on this one; no hard feelings, I like sharp discourse.
I also like K&N filters.I have used them on all my motorcycles since 1979.I haven;t been using them on my latest cars because of the oil air sensor problem, but aia suspect maybe K&N has solved that with the factory oiling(careful-not too much).
Dinky little 70-80 hp motors in our 3000 lb cars just aren't worth bolt on intake and exhaust mods.If you get a 15% increase in power(a really great gain from bolt ons), you get 10 hp on a 3000 lb car!!!
Luck,Charlie
PS Ford has used the AC to cool intake air in one of its Hot Rod trucks. If you could drop the temp 50 degrees, you can increase the power 10% everywhere-just not up top. Obviously,the ac wouldn't be able to do this very long, kinda complicated also. Part of N2O "goodness" is that it cools the intake charge a bit.In WW2 the Germans were injecting N20, WATER and ethanol or methanol for extra zip at altitude in supercharged planes for short spurts!

Old 05-31-2006, 08:44 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: newbie here, any performance mods...

Sorry Zimbop,

I seperated the comment about being intelligent into a seperate paragraph so that you would know I'm talking about a different subject, in this case, not you. Thats what you do when writing a book and different people start speaking (ever notice how many paragraphs there are in a book ?????) or when you're writing an essay and you start speaking about a different topic. Obviously you, and many others, didn't pick up on that. I didn't call you an idiot, nor say you poked fun at the guy. The person I was referring to was the person who told him to put a Ferrari V12 motor in his car.

Old 05-31-2006, 08:45 PM

ElanC,