newbie here, any performance mods...

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2006, 03:31 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: newbie here, any performance mods...

Originally Posted by Tulip
This is an interesting and lively debate which has been stirred up, much like disturbing a hornets nest! One question. Are there any ladies taking this modification route, or is it an exclusively male thing? (The old hunter-gatherer at work). Certainly from personal observation on the road it would seem to be the latter. Do the Police have any statistics I wonder?
I'm a gal and a geek (hence my handle), but I'm not into mechanically tweaking my vehicles' engines or exhausts at all. I customize them in minimal ways that aren't for increasing performance but to increase utility and/or lifespan for my uses -- Husky rubber floor & cargo liners, P.I.E. interface between my FEH and my 4GB iPod Nano, a windshield suction mount for my Garmin Streetpilot 2720 GPS, and a locking gas cap (peace of mind, nothing more; I was used to a '92 Corolla with an in-vehicle gas tank release).

That said, I do take meticulous care of my vehicles; I just don't do most of the maintenance myself; I don't have the tools or time. I did my own installation of the cabin air filter (Bosch; posted about it in another thread here several weeks ago.) I wash and wax my own vehicles regularly. I keep the interiors clean. I monitor my tire pressures and after reading threads here, I increased the tire pressure to 40psi (Ford recommends 35psi on the FEH, max. sidewall for the Continental EcoPlus LRR tires is 44psi.)

My Dad does all his own maintenance -- tire rotation, oil changes, filter changes, even fixed a broken power window mechanism in my Mom's car. He only takes a car in for servicing if it's an issue he can't diagnose or address.