newbie here, any performance mods...

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2006, 12:29 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: newbie here, any performance mods...

Originally Posted by mexiken
livvie,

Do you have a link or remember where you read it ???? I'd like to see that and take a look at the data. According to most everyone else around here, if you install something for performance, it can't POSSIBLY increase your fuel economy....
ok... so i think it was a turbo insight, and not an hch... here is where i first heard about it:

https://www.greenhybrid.com/discuss/...ight#post29295

also, i'm of the opinion that modding is fine but for a hybrid the only mods that make sense to me are those that increase FE... but if you can get an increase in performance at little to no FE loss... hey, more power to you. What I don't get are those that mod a hybrid with 20+ inch rims and then complain about gas mileage.

Old 06-01-2006, 02:11 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Well, we will just agree to disagree.

Comparing the Prius and the HCH, where the Prius gets about 1 MPG more (from the GH database), it seems to me that there's very little to gain in FE from an electric motor/battery mod. I would say that Toyota went overboard with their design, for no real gain. True, they got the bragging rights for a pure EV propulsion at slow speeds, but they gained no FE from doing that because the electric energy used for pure EV has to be regenerated by the ICE. The Prius is a much better candidate to become a plug-in hybrid, as some people have already been proving. The HCH has no chance of becoming a PHEV in its current configuration. But Toyota vehemently denies any plans for a Prius PHEV. That's a pity because I would buy it in a second.

Converting a hybrid to a PHEV is the greatest mod I can think of. Alas, not in the HCH.