newbie here, any performance mods...

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2006, 09:13 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: newbie here, any performance mods...

Well, then don't buy a hybrid. The exact mod required for what you suggest is a regular non-hybrid civic. If you're not comfy with the power sacrifice required to achieve the FE the hybrid gets, then buy a regular civic. End of story. It's cheaper and doesn't require user mods to get what you want. It's the "reserve power" you describe that makes most other cars wasteful because you so rarely NEED that extra push, if ever. That reserve power costs you in FE - there's no magic, you don't get something for nothing.
Going to a non-hybrid Civic, based on what others are getting in my area, would drop my MPG about 25-30% all things equal. Most of the performance mods suggested on here to make the hybrid performance match the non-hybrid would keep the mileage fairly close to the same still. While my commute is not at all condusive to getting good mileage in a hybrid, it's worse for non-hybrids that recover nothing going over the hills.

As far as reserve power being wasteful, that does not need to be the case in a hybrid, as that is the purpose of the eelectric motor. If that motor were somewhat larger, both MPG and power would be greatly improved, however, such a change is well beyond the scope of an at-home performance mod. The main efficiecny drawback in mine comes in with long sustained hill climbing where the batteries becomes depleted, and the motor actually becomes an extra load on the engine. Despite this, the Hybrid actually does average slightly better than the non-hybrid, but it could be better than it is. This is why I feel a slightly larger engine would be a plus -- note, the HCH 2 has actualy done exactly this, it manages to keep RPMs lower at highway speeds, and I believe this has contributed to its overall mileage improvement compared to the first generation.