Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Boston To Arlington on 81/2 gallons!

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2005, 07:40 AM
Enthusiast
Default Boston To Arlington on 81/2 gallons!

I just drove from Boston Ma to Pentagon City in Arlington Va on about 8 1/2 gallons of gas. I am a new driver, just got my license in Dec 05, so i amn't the most auto savy kid around but i believe the reason i averaged about 54 mpg was because i went the speed limit (pretty much stuck to the speed limit i never went over 70mph), letting cruise control do the thinking when ever possible and i was very miserly with the A.C enjoying a breeze through the window rather than blasting the A.C. SO is this good fuel economy? is there something i could be doing better? Thanks for your feedback

Old 07-27-2005, 01:50 PM
Default Re: Boston To Arlington on 81/2 gallons!

Use the A/C when going over 40ish. Openening the window lowers your mileage more than the A/C at that point.

Old 07-27-2005, 02:08 PM
Super Moderator & Contributor ($)

Or better yet keep the windows up, the AC off and the vent fan on high.

Old 07-28-2005, 09:58 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

8.5 gal. from Boston to Arlington, Virginia is one thing. Let's see how you do going from Boston to Arlington, Texas!

Old 07-28-2005, 10:09 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by tanstaafl14
8.5 gal. from Boston to Arlington, Virginia is one thing. Let's see how you do going from Boston to Arlington, Texas!
You beat me to this! Just promise that after you make your historic 2000-mile trek from Boston to Arlington, Texas you don't follow Ranger's Kenny Rogers' example and punch the camerman.

Old 07-28-2005, 10:17 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Naw, being a native Texan (lived in Arlington for ~7.5 years) I only punch out ****yankees.

Old 07-28-2005, 10:45 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by tanstaafl14