HV Battery Jump

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2023, 04:05 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: HV Battery Jump

Originally Posted by S Keith
Buttons are on the kick panel to the left of your ankle, or at the left end of the dash.

If you truly have an '09, then the battery has likely been replaced with an 05-08.

Lastly, please do everybody a favor and delete the massive amount of text you quoted from the original post. At 300+ posts in it's poor forum etiquette to quote a massive post to add a few lines for your reply.
That was the situation with my '09. The seller had replaced the HVTB with one from an '08.

Old 10-08-2023, 12:52 PM
Enthusiast

Hey Guys... yet another new user here … attracted by this thread and the great info on here.

I have my friends 09 Escape hybrid with continuous battery drain issues (he DEFINITLY doesn't drive it enough) so I built him a charger to leave in the car.

Just to preface, I am an experienced mechanic, and have worked on hybrids / EVs, but this is my first "modification" to a hybrid system. Reading this thread made me extremely confident of the job, but I paused this morning when getting ready to start charging it. I think mainly because of the other (personal and client) vehicles surrounding the Escape, and potential damage if there was a mishap. So I was hoping to just check my work, and quench some concerns.

I followed the wiring schematic previously posted, using an HLG-120H-350A, and 2 D1NK60-5070 diodes (I saw that part number on this thread somewhere, and had some). I drilled out the unused connector on the drivers side of the HV battery case and ran the AC though it, and mounted the HLG-120H where the 05-08 jump pack was. I ran the output wires into a plastic enclosure (also mounted) to protect the diodes and then spliced them into the vestigial wires so I could keep the connectors to test voltage at.