HV Battery Jump

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2023, 06:40 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: HV Battery Jump

Originally Posted by fmp530
I inherited an '08 from my mother-in-law...i drive it to work 5 miles away Monday-Friday. is this too short of trips to keep this car?
I'm no expert but I seriously doubt that 5 miles per day morning and evening are enough to keep the HV battery tended and adequately charged. This is especially true if it is cold (below 50 degrees or so) where you are. The car isn't getting much in the way of regenerative braking and because the battery isn't up to temperature, the motor/generator in the transaxle will not do its usual job keeping the HV battery fully charged. You need to drive it longer distances every few days and get it fully warmed up if possible, because it is the only "normal" way the battery is maintained and recharged.

Even though I keep my super-short trips to a minimum, I never let my '10 FEH Limited sit longer than 72 hours if I can help it. I don't even have the jump start button!

As SKeith says, short trips are murder on the battery and short, cold trips with a prompt shut-off and cool down are even worse. They're really not good for any car - and the Hybrid has concerns of its own as well.

Last edited by AlexK; 01-16-2023 at 06:50 PM.
Old 01-17-2023, 05:57 PM
Enthusiast

Hi All,

This thread is a tremendous resource for the FEH. I purchased 2009 at an auction recently and followed the instructions to get my hybrid battery back to a workable charge. 4+ hours charging and it reads around 340 volts. The vestigial wires were easy to hook up to the homemade charger (Thanks, S Keith).