Highlander after market Mpg savers?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2005, 03:23 PM
Enthusiast
Default Highlander after market Mpg savers?

HI All,

I am new to hybrids, and they are saving us money over our previous cars. I just got my wife a Toyota Prius and myself a Highlander. I love the idea of saving energy and a cleaner environment. It is awesome to pull up to a traffic light and have the gas engine shut off. I heard there are after market products that allow you to put the vehicles in an electric mode only. Does anyone have any information on these? Or if you can point me it this direction. Thanks

Old 09-18-2005, 04:35 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Highlander after market Mpg savers?

The Prius is capable of this function, but I haven't heard if the Highlander is or not.

In the Prius' case it's a matter of installing a switch (just a momentary push button) and a wire to the high voltage electronic control unit plug, and another wire to car chassis. Google for a PDF explaining how to install it "Prius EV Mod" or something along those lines.

Old 09-21-2005, 05:58 PM
Enthusiast

Thanks. I have now learned that Toyota itself has an optional EV switch, but it is not available in the US. I guess I will try to do it myself. Has anyone had experience doing this?

Old 09-21-2005, 10:23 PM
Active Enthusiast

I installed coastaltech.com's ev "switch" successfully, as have many other Prius owners. I don't know if it works on the HiHy. Instead of an actual button, you install this switch inline to a wire harness behind the glovebox, and when you pull the cruise control lever for 2+ seconds, the Prius beeps. You're then in EV mode until you exceed 33mph, accelerate hard, the battery goes too low, or you pull the cc lever again to deactivate EV mode. If the battery pack is too hot, it won't allow you to trigger this.