List of pertinent TSB's

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 06:18 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: List of pertinent TSB's

Originally Posted by Loonbeam
Did not realize that. I was actually thinking it might be a violation of Toyota copyright as well..

Holding off on offer until we know for sure.
I am not a lawyer, but I have seen no markings whatsoever to indicate any copyright or limited distribution. In fact, there isn't even any small print that says "for internal use only".

Also, schmidtj, thanks for adding all these! And HybridFan too!

Old 01-04-2007, 06:26 AM
Keeping Toyota Solvent

No, you missed the point. I subscribe to tundrasolutions.com and they charge me a reasonable amount $$ to access the TSBs. They probably pay many $$ to obtain them from Toyota. So by me posting them here for FREE is probably diluting the $$ tundrasolutions.com could be making to recoupe their expenses. That's my quandary.

Old 01-04-2007, 11:29 AM
Active Enthusiast

I appreciate your quandary, but it does not change the fact that the documents have no markings at all indicating where they came from, who owns them, or a general limitation of use or distribution. Given that, how likely is that TS had to pay anything for them rather than just collecting money from you to maintain their servers?

I don't know the answer, I am just curious.

Regards,

Larry

Old 01-04-2007, 11:43 AM
Keeping Toyota Solvent

Originally Posted by Bigsk8r
... how likely is that TS had to pay anything for them rather than just collecting money from you to maintain their servers?
Probably very likely. My guess (only a guess) is he subscribes to the save service that independent service stations subscribe to and get monthly updates via DVD. I have a cousin who is an independent mechanic and subscribes. I believe he pays several thousands of dollars a year for the subscription. It isn't limited to TSBs and isn't limited to Toyota but has specifications that are used for his miriad of test equipment.