Can I play a CD and use NAV simultaneously?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2006, 06:12 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Can I play a CD and use NAV simultaneously?

Silly question, I'm sure, but I'm new at this...

If the Navigation system requires a DVD, does that mean that I cannot use the system and listen to a CD at the same time? Can you use the DVD Nav system and the radio at the same time or do the voice prompts interfere?

Just curious, thanks!

Old 06-01-2006, 06:22 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Can I play a CD and use NAV simultaneously?

You can use them both at the same time. The DVD stays in a different slot than the CD player. The audio from the CD will partially fade out when you are being given navigational directions.

Old 06-01-2006, 09:13 AM

Originally Posted by Mr. Kite
The audio from the CD will partially fade out when you are being given navigational directions.
Speaking of this feature, has anyone experienced irratic operation of this function? Seems that sometimes the audio system volume is cut significantly at all speakers and the NAVI voice plays over the music... at other times it seems the rear speakers play music at normal volume and the front speakers have NAVI voice. Sometimes the NAVI voice isn't loud enough; at other times it's just right.

Perhaps the system alters how the NAVI speaks based upon music volume?

Old 06-01-2006, 10:05 AM

Originally Posted by Anahymbrid
Speaking of this feature, has anyone experienced irratic operation of this function? Seems that sometimes the audio system volume is cut significantly at all speakers and the NAVI voice plays over the music... at other times it seems the rear speakers play music at normal volume and the front speakers have NAVI voice. Sometimes the NAVI voice isn't loud enough; at other times it's just right.

Perhaps the system alters how the NAVI speaks based upon music volume?