Battery problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2010, 12:43 AM
Enthusiast
Default Battery problem

So I own a 2006 Honda civic hybrid. It has 70,000 miles and just recently it began giving me battery problems. So after I drove the car and let it sit for about 5 days it wouldn't start. I didn't leave any lights on. The car was completely dead. I jumpstarted it and drove it for about 10 minutes. It got about 4 bars on the battery. I let it sit for about 2 or 3 hours and once again it was dead. It says the battery is being charged and it does give me some bars but it keeps dying. What could be wrong???
Thanks for looking.

Old 09-14-2010, 04:06 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Battery problem

I'm very new to this hybrid thing but I'm pretty good with basic auto electrical systems.

It sounds like a bad STARTING battery.

It's an ordinary 12 volt battery and they wear out pretty quick (compared to the big expensive battery that moves the car)

A bad battery would rob the charging sytem of a lot of power and make everything behave badly.

You can take the car to any old autoparts store and have them check it for free.

Whether or not they carry the appropriate battery is another story, but the charging circuit and the lead acid battery should be pretty basic.

Old 09-14-2010, 07:35 PM
Enthusiast

What hert said. You have two batteries in the HCH. The 12v under the hood that runs the accessories when the engine is off and starts the engine initially, and the 144v? IMA battery between the backseat and the trunk. Any auto parts store should carry the battery you need for $60-100. There's no fixing it, just replacing it. It being a 2006, the battery is (likely) original and is just worn out. The 144v battery has nothing to do with starting the engine initially, only after auto-stop.