CTS disclaims pedal problem, (battery issue?)

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2010, 02:00 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default CTS disclaims pedal problem, (battery issue?)

Accelerator manufacturer CTS has issued a statement disclaiming their product involvement in this recent spate of sudden acceleration problems. They are claiming Toyota and Lexus have had this problem dating back to 1999 and CTS has only been supplying pedal assemblies to them since 2005.

In a forum posting unrelated to this announcement, it was suggested that voltage fluctuations in decaying 12 volt batteries can occasionally causes glitches in the engine computers that result in this problem. Set aside for a moment, the fact that this is hearsay and remember, the TCH's were excluded.... I wonder if the 244 volts of available power has something to do with it.

Another fact, far more distantly related... I work in the public transportation industry teaching classes on preventative maintenance and repair. A good portion of my standard curriculum revolves around the inherent weaknesses and hazards of the 12vdc, chassis ground mobile electrical system. It is 100 year old technology that is causing big problems, even with the relatively simple logic controls attached to our equipment.

One has to wonder at this point. CTS statement to follow:

"
CTS Corp. of Elkhart, Ind., said in a statement that it had "deep concern that there is widespread confusion and incorrect information" about its products linked to the sudden-acceleration issue.
"The problem of sudden unintended acceleration has been reported to have existed in some Lexus vehicles and Toyota vehicles going back to 1999, when CTS did not even make this product for any customer," the company said.
Toyota began using CTS-made pedals in the 2005 model year.
Toyota spokesman Brian Lyons said the company had no comment on CTS' statement.