HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Great time to be buying a HCHII

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2008, 04:15 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Great time to be buying a HCHII

Originally Posted by tanstaafl14
Gotta disagree with "exbauer" about the dark color, though. It does look nice, but it will put more load on the A/C during summer. My HCH is "galaxy gray," which was my 2nd choice behind white for that reason.
Modern darker-coloured Civics put more load on the A/C during the summer than lighter-coloured ones? Prove it.

Old 04-29-2008, 05:26 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by spinner
Modern darker-coloured Civics put more load on the A/C during the summer than lighter-coloured ones? Prove it.
Maybe he is referring to the dark blue seats. I could believe that it would take more A/C to cool a car with dark seats.

Old 04-29-2008, 09:56 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by spinner

As an HVAC Controls engineer, I can tell you for certain that any dark colored (exterior) car will require more energy to cool in the summer (and less energy to heat in the winter, btw).

When we pick out our prototypes for evaluation, the ideal scenario would be to test black cars in Florida/Arizona and white cars in Canada, just to get the most extreme loads. Usually, we don't have the luxury of a choice though. Gray/silver is obviously an average of the two.

Old 04-29-2008, 10:35 AM
Eco Accelerometrist

Sorry Spinner;

I have to agree with Rob on this one. Not only because it follows & complies with basic truth elements most of us have learned long ago... but also because some of us have actually tested this too.