Shifty Shifter

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 08:45 PM
Active Enthusiast
Cool Shifty Shifter

OK guys.. ran into a strange incident with my '05 FEH 4X4...

The wife has been complaining about the key being hard to get out of the ignition the last few weeks. It never acted up for me until last week, but we noticed that when the key wouldn't release, the "P" on the display wasn't circled either... definitely a shifter related issue.

Anyways a Ford tech told me the shifters are problematic on these, and next time the key won't release, unplugging the shift interlock connector will release the key, and if/when that happens the only way to fix it is to replace the shifter... (Just shy of $500 list for the part).

Now.. I studied the wiring diagram, and realized that when it is in Park, the ground circuit for the ignition key 'lock' gets disrupted, and it releases the key. I was simply going to install a small switch inside the center storage compartment to kill the ground circuit so we can remove the key when it's acting up. I figured this would be an indefinite 'repair' until I could afford a new shifter.

Anyways, I removed the top center console cover (legos anyone?), unplugged the shift interlock connector and in the process yanked on the wires a bit. I had the car running at that time (for heat as it's cold outside) and when I did so, STOP SAFELY NOW appeared... beeping like mad, and the engine died. WOULD NOT RESTART.

I also noticed I was 'off' a gear... P was never circled, It displayed N when in Revers, D when in Neutral, L when in drive, etc...

After verifying I didn't damage any wiring, I decided to yank the shifter... and after doing so I noticed the screws for the Shifter Sensor (Transmission Range Sensor) mounted on the left side of the shifter were loose! When I yanked on the wires, it must have pulled the sensor out of adjustment....