08 Speaker Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2007, 11:06 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default 08 Speaker Replacement

I'm a newbie (just got my 08 AWD yesterday) and wanted to ask about replacing the factory door speakers.

Is it easy enough to do myself? Are there some good instructions anywhere online? I've been googling a lot and haven't found much.

Thanks,
Todd

Old 07-11-2007, 01:36 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 08 Speaker Replacement

Mine is an 06, but it took me probably five minutes to remove each front door panel & the rears are even easier.

The only problem you may have is, the plastic clips that hold the panel on may break & require replacement (I bought extras for that reason).

~John

Old 07-11-2007, 07:21 PM
Active Enthusiast

Thanks. Nice mods.

Which retainer clips do you recommend? After a quick search, it looks like there's a lot of different kinds.

Old 07-12-2007, 08:42 AM

I'm pretty sure these are the right ones, but I would have to check at home to be sure (I am at work)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/25-Do...spagenameZWDVW

~John

Old 07-12-2007, 09:01 AM
rb1
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by tommyball
I'm a newbie (just got my 08 AWD yesterday) and wanted to ask about replacing the factory door speakers.

Is it easy enough to do myself? Are there some good instructions anywhere online? I've been googling a lot and haven't found much.

Thanks,
Todd

It'll be interesting to see if aftermarket speakers are significantly better, especially if you don't change the location of tweeters (in door panels, along with the midrange).

Old 07-12-2007, 09:40 AM

Originally Posted by jmorton10
I'm pretty sure these are the right ones, but I would have to check at home to be sure (I am at work)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/25-Do...spagenameZWDVW

~John