econ mode questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2009, 08:28 AM
Enthusiast
Default econ mode questions

Hi All:

I have a new 08 Hybrid Highlander with only about 300 miles. I had been driving in ECON mode but gas mileage actually seemed to be decreasing. And this morning for my 6 mile commute, I turned it off and MPG went up slightly.

I'm not sure why this is and which mode [ECON or normal] I should be using. Is it that I need to drive a whole bunch of miles to charge the battery before ECON becomes practical?

Sorry this is basic stuff. I'm not an expert on cars and am new to this forum and to my own Highlander.

-Russ

Old 02-06-2009, 10:31 AM
Super Moderator
Default Re: econ mode questions

russ,

The econ mode is used by the system to determine how fast to run and how often to cycle the AC compressor and the speed at which heat and cooling are achieved in the cabin. If you run your defroster, the AC will come on "high" to de-humidify the air. This will turn off the "econ" mode as will turning the temp control to its lowest setting.

The "econ" mode will help more during the summer in adjusting the AC compressor load to what is required instead of a fixed percentage of the engine speed. This enables the cooling system to run the AC unit at 50% to 60% of its normal "speed" and still cool the cabin.

During cold weather and short commutes, there is not a lot you can do to increase mileage. Summer temps and warm weather gas formulations will help more than anything. This is assuming you are using the best methods to gain milaeage on your tanks. Try doing a lot of reading on this site for driving tips on how to increase your mileage. You will also get an increase once the engine and other systems are fully "broken in". This usually happens around the 5,000 mile mark.

Either way, have fun and welcome to the wacky world of hybrid drivers....

Old 02-06-2009, 02:21 PM
Enthusiast