Econ mode ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2007, 03:31 PM
Enthusiast
Default Econ mode ?

I'm new to hybrids and I've read some posts re: how to maximize mileage. I've noticed that sometimes when I take my foot off the gas the MPG gauge falls all the way to Econ mode and sometimes it only drops to "60". My mileage seems to be pretty low around 33 mpg combined. What do I need to do to consistently get into this mode? I've been trying the pulse and glide metheod.

Any thoughts?
Matthew

Old 02-08-2007, 03:43 PM
Along for the ride.....
Default Re: Econ mode ?

Not sure where you live but if it's cold, your mileage will suffer. The gas engine needs to run more. In summer it should jump 5+ mph

Old 02-08-2007, 03:46 PM
Enthusiast

thanks for your reply. I live in Northern Calif. (Bay area) so it is not too cold - maybe 60 degrees. Any thoughts on why the Ev mode doesn't kick in at times?

Matthew

Old 02-08-2007, 03:53 PM
Active Enthusiast

AC on?

Old 02-08-2007, 04:58 PM
Keeping Toyota Solvent

Originally Posted by Matthewob
I'm new to hybrids and I've read some posts re: how to maximize mileage. I've noticed that sometimes when I take my foot off the gas the MPG gauge falls all the way to Econ mode and sometimes it only drops to "60". My mileage seems to be pretty low around 33 mpg combined. What do I need to do to consistently get into this mode? I've been trying the pulse and glide metheod.

Any thoughts?
Matthew
If it drops to 60 the Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) is still rotating. Due to the geometry of the Power Split Device (PSD) and the Hybrid Synergy Drive (HSD) components, the ICE will spin (but may not be consuming fuel) at all times above 43 mph. Below 43 mph the engine may shut down completely as it does at a full stop. Then the fuel consumption meter goes to Econ (or is it Electric Vehicle?) mode.

Old 02-09-2007, 06:33 AM
Dazed and Confused

I have found the best way to ensure the ICE turns off is to:

ensure the eco switch is turned on