When presented with both, I went for the Prius.

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2008, 06:43 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: When presented with both, I went for the Prius.

Originally Posted by prius12306
I am not a techie on this stuff, but there must be some difference in the hybrid features of the camry vs prius. On my old camry I was getting 33.5 for best MPG average - on long highway trips would get 36. This was on a gas engine. I wanted to go as Green as possible so I went to the prius. I also needed to get a car that qualifies as a "green" commuter car to drive on the NYS Thruway. Camry did not qualify. I am hoping that I can get used to losing some of the things I loved about the camry - the sunroof for 1. Being as green as possible is very important to me and the camry just wasn't going to cut it. Hopefully that answers your questions as to what I meant by "full hybrid".
Very logical....and the NYS thruway savings are big plus! I avoid the thruway like the plague because of the tolls. I went with the Camry because size was a little more important (I was going to buy a truck!). I choose the hybrid Camry because I believed if no one supports the technology (buying it) then it will never improve.

I would be interesting knowing some of the technological differences, if anyone knows.

Enjoy the Prius!! It's a cool car.

Old 05-08-2008, 03:52 PM
Active Enthusiast

I went with the Camry Hybrid because I didn't want to compromise power or space for better gas mileage. I wanted to have my cake and eat it too.

Old 05-08-2008, 07:13 PM
Active Enthusiast

Just rented a Prius yesterday. A few observations:

1. The split rear window was annoying, and made me feel like my rearview mirror was never in correct position. Also, in the rain the bottom section of the rear window below the wiper was never clear.