unintended acceleration & brake failure

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2008, 08:52 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: unintended acceleration & brake failure

Originally Posted by 50th Anniversary Camry
I have experienced pulling into a garage in electric mode and the ICE kicks on just as you are creeping up to the last 6 inches of your stop, it "sounds" like it is accelerating and you do get a slight surge, which causes you to step hard on the brake, but I would not call this unintended acceleration. Remember, I am a Toyota Service Manager and I have seen zero cases of "unintended acceleration" that were not related to driver error (double floor mats, snow boots hitting both pedals, etc). If there were truly an unintended acceleration, there would be some data (codes, etc) in the computer to show a faulty sensor and lights would light up the dash like a christmas tree. Once again, zero cases reported in our local area (Northeast).
Originally Posted by rburt07
OK on your in the EV Mode when you enter the headed into the garage. The only thing that would kick on the engine is if you lightly touched the accelerator. Perhaps the car rolls over a concrete rain strip to keep any rain water out of the garage. The ones I have seen are only a half inch high.

The only other reason the engine may start is if the traction battery is at a minimum charge.
All of which happens to me, but does not match the description of my wife's experience as she fought for control in order to avoid running down bicyclist on the road that day.

The ICE usually comes on with a kinda lurch. Because It's happened at stop lights/stop signs, I don't worry about it. Besides, I'm rolling into the garage with my foot on the brake.

I'm not impugning your honesty, but it is certainly possible that the Toyota Rep (he who photographed the mat over the accelerator pedal) could have lied about the codes.