The other side of mileage improvement techniques

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2008, 03:28 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default The other side of mileage improvement techniques

Much has been written about the various steps people use to try and improve their mileage. Some of the are logical, safe and advisable. Others may save a few dollars in the short run, but might end up costing more in the long run. Finally, there are some that are downright dangerous or might even be illegal (although, O.J. can walk free, I doubt some of the reckless drivers will end up doing time).
I'd like to have a thread that serves to discuss the other side of these techniques.
Let me start out by saying I am not an engineer, nor have I studied physics (since high school, that is), so much of what write about is gathered from 32 years of driving as well as speaking with various mechanics and doing some online reading (translation...I am not an expert).

First point to discuss, tire inflation. I was in Sears Auto Center this weekend and I asked the manager about tire inflation. He mentioned that 'over inflation' had dubious value, since it reduces the tire's useful life and provides less traction (less rubber meeting the road) in case of severe tire maneuvers. Now, I know there are many out there who would argue against this line of reasoning, some with more knowledge than this manager. But the question is, if you improve your mileage by from 35 MPG to 40 MPG (assuming 12,000 miles per year and $3/gallon) you will save 42 gallons or ~$126/year. But if your tires last 3 years instead of 4 (wild, unsubstantiated estimate) and a new set costs $450 (just a guess), you've ended up giving up your fuel saving by increasing the effective cost of your tires. Now, throw in the possibility that your car might not perform as well under an extremely adverse situation and you might ask yourself, is it worth it?