New Owner Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008, 11:18 AM
Driving in stealth mode
Default Re: New Owner Questions

I was told that it was a very good price for good tint. My buddy had his Yukon done there and they did an excellent job. I'm not an expert on it though but there were no bubbles or defects with the job.

Old 09-10-2008, 12:26 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by coolshock1
I was quoted $180 for my Camry from a reputable dealer. It was 35% rear windows 50% fronts.
Wow, that is a serious tint. Here in NY, I believe the law is no more than 30% tint on side windows. I will have to check.

Old 09-10-2008, 03:56 PM
Enthusiast

The percent that you see with tint is the percent of light transmission, so lower numbers means a darker tint. When someone says 50 front and 35 back this is fairly standard. I'm in texas and you can actually do 35 all around meaning that the state is not too strict about being able to clearly see the driver.

I purchased my vehicle at Red McCombs Toyota in San Antonio. I got 09 Camry Hybrid with leather, heated seats, nav, XM, spoiler, side molding, mats, mud guards, security system, Ipod connection, window etching, extra care protection (undercarriage and paint protection), and a 7yr/100,000 mile Toyota warranty for $200 over the car's MSRP (TTL included). I originally was set to get about $1700 off after negotiating and then received the Ipod, etching, and extra care protection for "free" as I did not ask for it despite the local port adding it in. Obviously I'm pretty happy with the deal that I received, especially as they charge a $3,000-5,000 premium in the Dallas area.

Old 09-10-2008, 08:54 PM
Active Enthusiast

Tinting:
Illinois allows the top six inches of the windshield, nothing on the front sides, and any darkness (nonreflective) on the rear sides and rear window.

Excerpted from http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/de...olice/faq.html

What is the law in Illinois regarding tinted windows?