Am I driving wrong

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2007, 07:21 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Am I driving wrong

I have owned my Toyota Camry Hybrid ("TCH") since October 2006, I wish I knew about this website earlier... I have averaged around 34-36 MPG.

My current strategy for driving the TCH: (any feedback would be appreciated)
1) Maximize The Electric Mode ("EM") - I avoid highways and try to drive between 35/40 MPH. It appears to me that the TCH can go long stretches with out having to use the Internal Combustion Engine ("ICE"). On a good day, using this method the Trip MPG, Bar Graph, is off the charts.
2) Coasting to stop lights - I definitely look ahead and see what the lights are doing and drive accordingly, if its yellow and turning red, I let up on the pedal and coast to the stop light. This seems to help re-charge the EM.
3) Heretical Mode ("HM") - I am still learning how to best use this mode. Thanks to these forum!! Basically, and please correct me if I am wrong, when accelerating or maintaining certain cruising speeds, the ICE and EM will work together resulting in better Fuel efficiency ("FE"). I have not been able to consistently recreate HM driving. Seems to come and go based on a bunch of variables. If anyone can shed more light on HM driving that would be much appreciated.

In closing, I have noticed that I sacrifice time, by driving in the city vs taking the highway, driving slower vs driving faster, taking longer routes that allow more EM usage, look for city roads with 35 to 45 speed signs, etc. My friends still let me drive but they make fun of me a lot for "taking the long way". I still do not have a strong handle on how some folks are consistently getting 40+ MPG. Any feedback overall would be greatly appreciated.

Old 08-10-2007, 08:57 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by SilverCamryHybrid