'07 Camry – Voltage on Single Block Jumping Wildly

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2021, 04:52 PM
Enthusiast
Default '07 Camry – Voltage on Single Block Jumping Wildly

I'm having an issue with a 2007 Camry Hybrid. I'm a newbie with Toyotas though I do have some experience keeping a 2001 Honda Insight going.

The '07 Camry recently reported this error: "P0A80, OBDII: Hybrid battery pack Deterioration." I cleared the error and grid charged it for 24 hours. It still reports error P0A80 but now also reports this error: "P3023, Toyota: High Voltage Battery Module 13 Fault; Battery block 13 malfunction."

This video shows the voltages of the battery modules after I start the engine:

As you can see, the voltage on block 13 jumps erratically between ~15.5v and 17.5v.

Is it obvious what to do in this situation? The car has 300k miles on it so I don't want to spend much. Replacing the entire battery isn't going to happen for that reason. But if I can get a few more years by swapping out a couple of cells I'm up for that (I've already opened up the HV battery compartment to install a grid charger).

The car had never been grid charged before yesterday. I have a discharger I could use on it if you think it might help fix these problem cells.

Thanks for any advice!

Old 03-23-2021, 07:56 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: '07 Camry – Voltage on Single Block Jumping Wildly

One of the two modules on block 13 has a failed cell. It spikes under charge, and it drops under load.

Continued driving in that condition can cause the module to rupture. I've seen it twice.

Concerning grid charging, unlike a Honda, over-use of a grid charger on a Toyota will kill the battery. They are more likely to vent than the Honda "D" cells. Repeated over-use and venting will rapidly kill the battery.

Keeping the battery cool with forced air during charging is beyond mandatory.