Journalism & The Media Television, radio, movies, newspapers, magazines, the Internet and more.

4 SUV Drivers Steal $8,100 of Gas

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2006, 06:42 AM
Happy Hybrid Owner
Default Re: 4 SUV Drivers Steal $8,100 of Gas

Originally Posted by Delta Flyer
Isn't leaving without paying for gas also a federal offence, too?
Why would it be a federal offense? Most theft/larceny, unless it involves government property, crosses state lines, etc., is governed by STATE penal laws. (Not to say this would not be a crime, and possibly a felony, but I can't figure why it would be a *federal* offense. Sorry if I'm nitpicking.)

Old 05-02-2006, 06:54 AM
Banned

Honestly don't know, but the pumps I freuently have a picture of a Texas State Trooper warning against leaving without paying...

Old 05-02-2006, 05:36 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

I'm not a lawyer (not even close!), but doesn't a felony just mean an offense that is more serious than a misdemeanor? I know at least one state does not even have the felony/misdemeanor designation anymore. I don't think it has to be a federal offense (breaking a federal law) in order to be a felony.

But I could be wrong.

Old 05-02-2006, 06:43 PM
Banned

A felony is a penality that could be punishable by a year or more.

Old 05-02-2006, 06:44 PM
Happy Hybrid Owner

Yeah, that's right. Here in NY, a felony is any crime for which the punishment can exceed 1 year imprisonment. I *think* (I'm a civil attorney, not a criminal one!) that in addition to the felony/misdemeanor distinction at the state level (i.e., crimes defined by state law, prosecuted in state court and punished by imprisonment in state correctional facilities), there may also be a similar distinction among Federal crimes (crimes defined by federal law, prosecuted in federal courts, and punished by imprisonment in federal correctional facilities).