Parking

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2006, 12:08 PM
Enthusiast
Default Parking

I'm a newbie here with my HCH II, which I've had for only 5 weeks now. I have a question about parking. On page 172 of the manual, it mentions to set the parking brake before putting the transmission in Park and I agree with doing this. My question arises when I'm able to glide into a parking spot with the ICE in Auto Stop, is it okay to turn the Key to Accessory (I) position before putting the transmission in Park? This prevents the ICE from starting when you shift from Neutral to Reverse then to Park and needing to be shut off anyways. I see this as wasting a small amount of gas and I'm wondering if it's okay or does the ICE need to be running in Park when the Key is used to shut it off.

Thanks,
Mark

Old 05-21-2006, 12:24 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Parking

I have made it a habit to turn the key to accessory when parking then put the transmission in park and pull the parking brake before removing the key. It's just another effort in preventing wasted fuel.

Old 05-21-2006, 01:27 PM
Wo ai Zheng!

My process...
Coast in with foot on brake, ICE in Auto-Stop
At the spot I want to stop at, foot down on brake to stop, shift to neutral
Pull hand brake, switch car off ACC only
Shift to park, foot off brake, key to OFF and out

Old 05-21-2006, 02:21 PM
MEAN TO BE GREEN ACTIVIST
Talking Re: Parking

Chris,

Welcome to Green Hybrid ! I can't improve on the answers allready given. Be sure to post your mileage in the database. I believe the info here from real folks driving over either EPA or Consumer Reports. I hope you enjoy your new ride. I'm having fun with mine AND I feel like I'm doing my small part to help the planet and our grandchildren to come.

Regards,

Old 05-21-2006, 03:58 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast