HCHs boosting each other - doesn't work?

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 07:25 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: HCHs boosting each other - doesn't work?

Originally Posted by giantquesadilla
That should help answer some questions. Many people have different views on what you should do.
For six months, I would reccomend having someone take it for a spin every 3-4 weeks, but I'm no mechanic.
While you are gone... I WILL TAKE IT FOR A SPIN !!!

Old 12-26-2007, 10:48 AM
Eco Accelerometrist

Originally Posted by MiaTurbo
...Regardless of where the battery under the hood gets its power, 12v is 12v. So as long as everything in the boosting car is in order, it should jump it.
Unfortunately, a 12V system alone is not a guarantee of a successful boost. As you indicated it is all about "cranking amps". The 12V subsystem on the HCH-II sits right at the borderline of adequacy for the car, and as such, is not a good platform to boost another non-hybrid at all.

In fact, there have been DC-DC module "early" failures reported and in most of those cases a boost of a car had taken place. The problem is aggravated even more in colder weather especially when the HCH-II boosts another car as its own battery is barely enough to start the engine on three crank cycles.

Personally, I will never consider boosting another vehicle unless its cranking requirements are as low as that of the HCH-II. As a good rule of thumb, the battery in the non-starting car must have a similar or lower cranking rating as the one in my HCH's.

For those who are a little unsure about this, please contact your service technician for specifics.

Cheers;

MSantos

Old 12-26-2007, 10:57 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

So MSantos, what you are saying is that hybrids should be able to boost other hybrids, but not most regular cars?

Old 12-26-2007, 01:09 PM
Eco Accelerometrist

Pretty much.