Do I want Navigation?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2007, 11:52 PM
AJR
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Do I want Navigation?

I'm looking at getting the HCHII in the next month or two. I don't think I'll get the NAV built-in because I already have a Garmin StreetPilot III I use ALL the time. I'm a computer tech travelling all the time to people's homes/businesses to work on their computers. The SPIII has been wonderful, and the annual updates are only $75-$150. I only do the updates every other year and try to catch it when they have their pre-sale. I bought the SPIII from a friend when he got his SP2610. Since Garmin allows for 2 GPS units using one upgrade (as long as both units are registered under the same person), it costs us even less because we split the price. I would love to have the touchscreen that the SP2610 has, but I can punch an address in so quickly now using the up/down arrows it would only save me about 15 seconds if I had touch screen.

My question however is will a plug-in GPS have any considerable drain on the battery or FE (any more-so than the built-in HCHII NAV unit)? I always turn the SPIII off when I arrive at a destination.

Old 04-18-2007, 04:03 PM
Enthusiast

I am planning on getting my HCHII at the end of the month! can't wait!!
Looking at the TMV report on edmunds and comparing with and without Nav, the invoice price difference is $1605.

With that cost I am leaning towards getting it w/o the NAV an purchasing a custom unit. I am looking for something which can play DVD movies (for my kids) on long trips as well as a good Navigation feature. I am also interested in getting the SIRIUS satelite radio functionality.

Has anyone done this with their HCH? How much should I expect to pay for a unit with installation which provides Nav/DVD/CD and is SIRIUS ready?

Thanks in advance,

-Rusty

Old 04-18-2007, 06:59 PM
Active Enthusiast