HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Is this possible??

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 05:31 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Is this possible??

Ok, so I had a little time on my hands the other day, so as I was laying in bed watching TV, I got to thinking....now this is a scary concept (me thinking that is). Now, does anyone, or think, if it's possible to modify the current setup of the HCH to add more battery power & incorporate a plug-in feature? I'm no electrician or car mechanic, but there's a lot of you guys out here that have way more knowledge than I do on these things. What would prevent someone, from setting up a few standard car batteries and hooking it into the electrical part of the electrical motor and also incorporating a plug-in feature so that you can start the day off, fully charged, at all times? Is this even viable? It's not something I'd plan on doing, but would be really cool if it could be done.

Old 02-09-2008, 06:44 AM
Part Time Hybrids
Default Re: Is this possible??

Ops.. misread you there. Had a whole response done out...

Well I'd guess there is little enough extra room for an extra battery. Unless you want to lose trunk space.

With careful driving you won't likely suffer a forced Regen anyways.

As for charging systems If you make one do share! But the modified Toyota's cost upwards of 10K to convert so I guess you'd be spending a pretty penny.

Last edited by Sungod18; 02-09-2008 at 06:52 AM.
Old 02-09-2008, 06:47 AM
Active Enthusiast

getting our IMA batteries charged can be easily done via criuse on highway

even you get it charged fully upon leaving home, some road might use them up before u realise so why take the trouble to charge them at home?

charging our IMA cannot hold charges too long bef we'll use them up
unless you change the type and size but that will eat on the FE

even if you install solar panel that will weight down the FE and aerodynamic

tot that was discuss before somewhere