HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Newbie: Electric only cruising

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2008, 01:24 PM
Enthusiast
Question Newbie: Electric only cruising

I recently bought a used '07 Civic Hybrid about a week ago, so I'm new to the Honda hybrid system. I have read that it will cruise on electric only at low speeds under light load, but I have yet to experience this.

Can you describe your experience of running on electic motor only? Does the gas engine turn completely off?

Thanks - Kenneth

Old 11-09-2008, 02:58 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Newbie: Electric only cruising

Practice on slight down grade. At 50mph or so come off the trottle and you will notice you have regen[grn] bars showing. And the instant miles per gal. guage should be pegged at 150mpg. Once you have both of these showing, you are in EV mod. feather your throttle untill the grn. regen bars go away. If your SOC is good you can go as high as 4 assist [wt] bars and stay in EV for as long as your SOC is good.Practise and it will become easy. Cheers, H

Old 11-09-2008, 03:52 PM
Energy Independence

And if you're moving faster than 7 or 8 MPH, the gas engine NEVER ahuta off. This is different than in a Prius or Escape. What happens is that (on occasion) the intake valves shut off the gas flow to the engine, but the crankshaft keeps turning. Therefore, engine on, gas off. It's cool to know, and it occurs occasionally just naturally as you drive. You CAN induce it, like Harold explains, but I do not strive for it often. Using up the IMA's juice is cool (as you may not be using any gas at that point), but you must replenish the battery juice you used up - and it's not 100% efficient - so the cost is almost always higher than the gain.
Trying NOT to use the battery pack, except when it's needed for extra acceleration or hill-climbing, is the best way for the typical driver to get better MPG.

Old 11-17-2008, 10:41 AM
AJR
Active Enthusiast