HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Honda civic hybrid only getting 33mpg?

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2011, 09:06 AM
Enthusiast
Default Honda civic hybrid only getting 33mpg?

Hi im new to this but is there something wrong with my car?

i am only getting 33mpg?

Old 07-29-2011, 11:26 AM
Think green.
Default Re: Honda civic hybrid only getting 33mpg?

It's hard to tell, especially if you're only taking a "snapshot" of 146 miles.

What kind of driving was it? Mostly short trips? Air conditioning on the whole time? Lots of uphill driving? Lots of stop and go driving or traffic jams, all these things can really bring your mpgs down.

Try to get a measurement over the course of an entire tank. Do a manual calculation of miles driven for that tank per gallons taken at fill-up.

Read over at cleanmpg.com where there are comprehensive articles detailing various ways to maximize mpg for your particular car. It may be that your car has a problem, but it also may be that you are new to this, and need to get some driving tips. I wouldn't make a judgment based on a mere 146 miles of driving.

Old 07-31-2011, 08:49 AM
Active Enthusiast

Getting good MPG can be a zen thing- relax, focus, see the light is red a half mile away and take your foot off the gas.
I get a steady 41 MPG and I don't work at it that hard but a bad week at work can lower it to the high 30's and it pretty easy to get what your getting if i'm in a hurry running errands.

Ways to tell if your car is working like it should-

Fill the tank, reset both odometers and take a drive- on a fairly flat road with light traffic where you can maintain 60-65, with cruise control on, reset the B odometer and see what MPG you get after a few miles. It should be well into the 50's

increase the tire pressure, but no higher than it says on the door sticker.

breathe.....

Old 07-31-2011, 09:00 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast