HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

IMA Voltage Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2016, 11:06 AM
Enthusiast
Default IMA Voltage Issues

Good day to all! I have had our HCH for a few months, and we bought it with an IMA light on. So the other day I was bored and removed the rear seat and battery cover and tied some wiring to the terminals on the IMA battery so I could hook up my DVOM and monitor voltages, more for kicks and grins than anything. On the 200 VDC setting, I am reading 140-170 with the key on. When I shut the key off the voltage drops off steadily to 0. But the wierd thing...when I have the car running, it is in the 160-ish range, until it starts charging, and then it reads over limit, and still out of limit on the (I believe) 700 volt setting. Is this normal behavior? I am still learning about this crazy creature, but that seems odd to me. I tied my leads to the main power terminals on the battery, so I can't figure out why the voltage is bleeding off with the ignition off. I thought the power relays and such were outside of the battery itself. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Rob

Old 03-09-2016, 06:14 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: IMA Voltage Issues

Rob,

With your IMA light on, the behavior at the terminals is unreliable.

There is a relay on the junction board of the pack. When 12V is cut, it opens, and you have zero V at the pack terminals.

What are you trying to accomplish? Are you just putzing around with it, or are you trying to fix it? I vigorously urge you to not subject yourself to unnecessary risk without a useful goal in mind.

What is your location?

What codes are being reported?

Is your 12V light on?

Status of master switch?