Escalade Hybrid concerns

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2022, 06:49 AM
Enthusiast
Default Escalade Hybrid concerns

Hello all,
I'm new to the whole electric/hybrid vehicle thing. I have a few questions about a vehicle I'm considering purchasing. I currently drive a 2004 Escalade ESV, love the ride, need the room, but the gas has been a killer lately. four forward gears doesn't help with the already poor city economy of that V8. I was looking at Escalade Hybrids for sale, because I've always thought the GM Hybrid trucks were an interesting idea. I have a friend that worked in the dealership around the time that these trucks were new, and he doesn't have anything bad to say about them. but that was nearly ten years ago. I'm primarily worried about longevity. I see that they're fairly cheap now, anywhere from $12k-23k for the specs that I want. But depreciation like that is rarely ever without reason.

I typically work on all my cars on my own, it saves me time and I know that it'll get done the best that it can be done. I've heard all the time about the early DOD systems and how they wreak all sorts of havoc on the motor. But I've also heard of people with fully functioning DOD systems after 200k miles with the original drivetrain. But there's one thing that I do worry about, the battery. Obviously we all know Lithium Ion batteries don't last forever, but battery tech has progressed so far in recent times, if I were to rebuild the pack, with all brand new cells, would I expect increased life out of it? How often should I expect the battery pack to be out and what are realistic options for rebuilding a pack? GM doesn't give a whole lot of good info about this battery, just a lot of high voltage warnings. I really just want to know everything I can about this, because I don't know anything, besides what I've seen on the internet.