Help on charging HV battery and a 2009 surprise find

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2021, 01:42 PM
DIY Hack
Default Help on charging HV battery and a 2009 surprise find

Hi all, first post here, I'm new to Hybrids but not auto work and high voltage wiring (years of CNC machine tool repair experience).

Quick background: Recently bought an 09 FEH, build date 05/09. It had sat for about 3 years but ran and drove fine. (I didn't know that this was bad at the time, but that's a longer story) 64,000 miles. My son drove the car for two weeks, 15 minute work commute exclusively. He then parked the car for a week, then no crank, no start. I believe my son didn't run the car long enough to fully charge/condition the HV battery. Forscan showed the voltage at a tick below 300VDC, SoC was near 2%, and it said the batteries were good. I have the codes somewhere, will post later.

I pull the HV battery intending to follow the several excellent threads on charging it. I had a 430VDC LED power supply (Meanwell HLG-120H-C350A) ready to go. I removed the battery covers and surprise! there's a jump starter there that I didn't expect to see on an '09; so I have either a unicorn or the battery's been swapped (P/N 5M64-10B759-AP, don't know if there's a date code). There are no wires from the jump starter to the rest of the car; the forward edge has an unused connector. There was, of course, no magic button in the driver's footwell area.

At the rear edge of the jump starter are two orange-wrapped wires. I removed the connectors and I have 300VDC at them, with the safety switch installed in the UNLOCK position. Remove the orange switch and no voltage.

I see my choices as:
- continue disassembly and connect my power supply at the relay terminals, or
- connect my power supply to the two wires that attached to the jump starter, (my favorite idea right now) or