FEH 2005 - Black oily soot in exhaust & Brake propblem

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2010, 09:37 PM
Enthusiast
Default FEH 2005 - Black oily soot in exhaust & Brake propblem

Hello Folks

I recently acquired a FEH 2005 in Canada and it has 93,000kms on it. The car seems to be running fine and since I am new to hybrids, I am currently using 9.1L/100kms which is roughly 26-27mpg in a mix of city/highway driving.

The question I have may not be related to hybrids per se but, when I ran my finger inside the tail pipe, I saw some black oily soot on it, which was wiped off quite easily by a paper towel. I owned a honda accord and its tail pipe usually would be quite dry. Is this normal in the Ford? I don't hear anything funny when the engine's running....but, I could be wrong. Any ideas?

Secondly, the hand brake appears to be very tight and only goes up a couple of notches...and once it refused to disengage, I had to use superhuman strength to press the button at the end to get it down. Also, twice today I saw the red brakes indicator go off with a chime and a "Service Brakes" message on the dashboard panel....but, no flashes in the ABS indicator. Although both the times the brakes were working absolutely fine and a simple restart of the car got rid of the message. I drove around 80kms after that and didnt face any issues.....but, since its the braking system, I would not like to take a chance.

The previous owner got the brake pads replaced in September and he claims that he never saw that message...

Can some one here please help with both the issues?

Thanks
Anish

Last edited by anish_s; 10-16-2010 at 09:45 PM.
Old 10-17-2010, 05:41 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: FEH 2005 - Black oily soot in exhaust & Brake propblem

Black residue inside the tailpipe is likely related to the combustion of fuel (gasoline). I see this in many vehicles.

Stuck/frozen hand parking brake can be related to disuse.