08 FEH - 3 weeks of ownership, but questions remain

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 11:28 AM
Enthusiast
Default 08 FEH - 3 weeks of ownership, but questions remain

Great forum and source of info - thanks to all who have contributed here!

This is my first hybrid vehicle, so I'm a hybrid noob. I've now had my '08 Escape Hybrid (81K miles - was used by a Fleet company so the high miles) for 3 weeks and really am enjoying it - but there's quite a steep learning curve to driving this type of technology (I'm mechanically adept - know my way around older vehicles). I've learned alot from reading this and another hybrid forum, but I have some ongoing doubts/questions that I need inputs and insights on from the more seasoned Ford hybrid owners here please.

Besides lots of interior cleaning, I've done the rear battery cabin fever replacement (really needed it!), intake air filter, and oil change using 5-20W full synthetic Pennzoil. New A/T tires filled to 43 psi.

1) Warm up window - ICE to EV enabling. I understand the design necessitates the engine runs on cold starts, and that it will run longer on ICE during cold weather months than warm, and this has been a chilly January even for North Carolina! If the outside temps are upper 20's/low 30's it takes about 7 miles/15 minutes before EV will engage - sound about right?