Questions from a Potential Prius owner

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2006, 07:40 PM
Enthusiast
Default Questions from a Potential Prius owner

After owning a gas guzzling Audi A6, I'd like to purchase a Hybrid. I just have a few questions.

I'm a student therefore I am looking for a budget car. During half the year I drive around 60+ miles a day, and I know these are ideal cars for high miles. However, I was wondering if these cars have long lives. I'm looking at one for $8,000 that has 175,000 miles on it. Do high miles matter as much on a Prius as compared to other cars? When problems arise, does it cost a lot to fix them as compared to other cars? Thank you for helping me on my decision!

Old 08-14-2006, 10:03 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Questions from a Potential Prius owner

My 2001 Prius has 93,000 miles, and still seems pretty young to me. Used cars are always a concern, unless you have access to the maintenance records. Would want to know what has already been replaced if anything. A Toyota service dept. ought to be able to tell you lots of history, if you provide them with the VIN.

Most of the Prius is just like a conventional front-wheel drive in terms of repair. So far the routine systems seem to be very reliable, but suspension parts (for example) will cost about the same as other cars. It lacks a conventional automatic transmission, which is a good thing because those can be expensive to fix.

Prius has several additional parts that would be expensive to replace, such as the inverters, power split device (often called transmission or CVT), hybrid battery, electric power steering, display screen, and several computers. For these systems it also shows very high reliability.

But to buy used, service history is key. Please tell us what you can find out about it.

DAS

Old 08-14-2006, 10:30 PM
Enthusiast