PHEV lite

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 06:37 PM
Enthusiast
Default PHEV lite

I am planning on buying a new Prius but really want a PHEV. The two options are a long way off. One company does a complete conversion for around $12000 but they have done ten prototypes and will not get to the East coast for years. The other company, in Canada, does a two-hour battery addition but they are also not yet selling to consumers. Is there any interest in this topic on this forum? I am a retired EE professor and would like information on the computer hack that biases the power choice toward electrical. (The European/Japan electric mode switch) I would then add NiMH batteries and have a ball. Yes I know that will void the warranty. That will affect my timing but will not keep me from experimenting.

Old 07-28-2006, 07:09 PM
Banned
Default Re: PHEV lite

At www.hybridfest.com, there was a PHEV company called www.hymotion.com that makes lithium PHEV-30 packs for the Prius.

Claims 100mpg city/hwy

Did not see a price on their site....

Last edited by Delta Flyer; 07-28-2006 at 07:40 PM.
Old 07-28-2006, 07:43 PM
Enthusiast

Hymotion is the Canadian company. Their price is $9500 for a 5kWh lithium pack installed. But it is not yet available to consumers.

Old 07-28-2006, 07:51 PM
Banned

I thought they were Canadian...

Hope you can find a better deal...

Old 07-29-2006, 12:33 AM
Engineering first

Hi,
Originally Posted by jcwils@bellsouth.net