Newbie here just bought an '02 Prius

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2005, 03:00 PM
Enthusiast
Default Newbie here just bought an '02 Prius

Hi all, I just bought my first hybrid - a used '02 Prius. Think I got a fairly good deal -- it was $16,200 BUT it only has 7,200 miles on it. I know the lady that had it and it hardly got used. Any advice for me on how to drive it or any possible problems I might have with it?

Thanks

Old 06-16-2005, 03:42 PM
Contributor ($)
Default Re: Newbie here just bought an '02 Prius

Kirby,
That's some lowwwww miles. What's the story behind the low miles?

Old 06-16-2005, 03:47 PM
Enthusiast

The lady only spends about half the time here in NJ and is in another state half the year. While here in NJ she only used the car to do local things and rarely went any distance. The car just sat in the garage most of the time. She decided she had it three years and went out and replaced it with a mini cooper convertible.

Old 06-16-2005, 04:00 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Nice! Welcome to the Hybrid club.

We have the 01 model, and had no problems with it, but there were a few recalls for certain things, like the tires got replaced, and the battery pack terminals were cleaned and sealed, so as long as whatever maintenance should have been done to it was done you should be in good shape for a long time. So far the reliability of these vehicles has been outstanding, even under severe driving conditions.

Old 06-17-2005, 08:32 AM
Enthusiast

I went to the local Toyota dealer and got the service history on the car. The lady brought it in like clockwork every 4 months to have it checked out. Last oil change was 1100 miles ago which was July-04. They said they replaced the hybrid battery pack as part of a recall in Dec-04.

Old 06-20-2005, 12:23 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast