Honda hybrid driver's impressions of Prius II

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2007, 05:24 AM
Vegetarian
Default Honda hybrid driver's impressions of Prius II

I just drove a Prius (II) for the first time yesterday, thought you might like to hear my impressions. My mom works for the county and is going to be traveling for work on Monday so she brought home a county car: a Prius II. Although I'm not technically supposed to, she let me drive it. I'm not sure what I was expecting exactly, but I was pleasantly surprised, I'm a bit smitten. My boyfriend has a Corolla (he wants a Prius), and his seats don't really fit me, so I sort of assumed me and Toyota seats don't mix, but the seats in the Prius weren't bad. I guess I have never really looked inside one before, the large center console kinda reminded me of a Hummer a bit. The dash ans such felt very futurey. I find the energy consumption display a little confusing, not too easy to immediately know where your getting power, and I didn't like you had to look over so far to get that information. I like the Honda gauges better. I didn't mess around with the radio or AC, but that seems like it would be annoying too. I also wish the start up and power down was a little more intuitive. My mother called me from work and asked me how to turn it on... I wasn't much help. Se figured it out on her own before I came across the valet cards online (she had the park button on). Driving in EV mode was awesome, reminded me of driving in a Rav 4 EV. It made me feel like my Insight is old fashioned with the engine running almost all the time (it's also a little rough). The transition between gas and electric was very subtle, but I could feel it (not a bad thing). The Prius also felt very big inside. Despite some of the negative sounding things I said, I certainly I wouldn't mind having one at some point in the future, but would probably prefer something smaller personally. Of course I'd like a pure EV even more. (Toyota, Honda, Tesla, anyb