Fuel Matters!

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2007, 08:17 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Fuel Matters!

Originally Posted by bwilson4web
I just wish there were a pyrometer technique that would give us the fuel energy density quickly...
You ought to find local lab with one of these:

http://www.parrinst.com/default.cfm?page_id=174

DAS

Old 04-07-2007, 09:49 AM
Engineering first

Originally Posted by Tochatihu
You ought to find local lab with one of these:

http://www.parrinst.com/default.cfm?page_id=174
Good idea. I sent them an e-mail asking if they can recommend someone.

I then used Google and found at least two US labs that appear to offer this service. I've sent them e-mail inquiries. This can give us a short 'test list' if it is affordable.

Bob Wilson

Old 04-07-2007, 07:49 PM
Prof. of Hybridology

When I was a Management student at U of M, we did a lot of "real business case studies", among other things, there were several gas station/company examples. One in particular was about how the companies share their distribution methods. That is, Amaco gas may fill up a Shell station, while Marathon gas may fill up an Amaco station, and so forth. They do this to save costs on delivering the fuel to the stations, and since they all have to meet the same US fuel grades, they work out deals to make sure they're all even to their accountants. So, the fuel you get may not be the same, even if you fill up at only one station for years.

That would definately make things more fun in trying to determine if a particular stations gas delivers better MPGs.

Old 04-12-2007, 09:32 PM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by New 2006 Prius
Thanks for responding.

I hope Shell works for you as it has for me. Please post what your results are (plus or minus) on this thread. I am curious what other Prius owners learn and know about the fuels they use. If some fuels work better than others perhaps they can be identified here and we'll all gain.