Cleaning Exterior Techniques

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2006, 05:03 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Cleaning Exterior Techniques

a new car wash opened up down the road from me. great at cleaning cars too. uses soft brushes, soft water, etc. not a high pressure wash. those suck. anyways i'm noticing some spotting coming from under the side mirrors. they said it's some grime or something that is in the mirror when they come out of the factory. happens with any new car they see. they sent me through again for free today. same thing happened.

so basically i'll need to bring a chamois when i go again...i'm new to keeping a car looking new so need some tips from people who actually care for their car

i want to keep this new car finish...i can't wax myself. too time consuming so i'll have it detailed a couple times a year at the dealership probably. anyways as far as washing the car. do you do it at home with a microfiber brush, take it through a wash and just touch it up, etc?

what's the best technique that won't consume my day. i washed it by hand using a mit microfiber brush the first few times. wasn't too hard just time consuming but is that mit going to ruin my paint and put swirls or lines in it? that's what i want to prevent.

any techniques and walkthroughs would be much appreciated. thanks. love the car so far by the way. 1600 miles as of today.

Old 01-22-2006, 08:34 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Cleaning Exterior Techniques

Invest in a bra it will keep the bugs off the front end paint.

As for washing Ideas, I was mine with mild dish soap like dawn, hand wax with $7.99 dupont teflon spray wax takes 20 min. to do whole car. inside I use $4.99 black magic tire wet on the dash and plastic using one of those little aplicators you would use for applying wax walmart $1.99