91.6 MPG

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2006, 12:45 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default 91.6 MPG

After learning about how to get the Prius into electric only mode and hold it for short periods I decided to try my luck. I was able to get up to 91.6mpg for a 2 mile run on a slightly hilly road (no down hill coasting), with numerous stop lights. After my 30 mile trip my mileage reduced down to around 58mpg. Still not to bad considering I'm still learning about this car.

Old 10-13-2006, 04:53 AM
Engineering first
Default Re: 91.6 MPG

Hi,

Originally Posted by Resist
After learning about how to get the Prius into electric only mode and hold it for short periods I decided to try my luck. I was able to get up to 91.6mpg for a 2 mile run on a slightly hilly road (no down hill coasting), with numerous stop lights. After my 30 mile trip my mileage reduced down to around 58mpg. Still not to bad considering I'm still learning about this car.
Actually, you can achieve this with cruise control set to 31 mph:

One of the reasons I recommend a 0-38 mph speed range is to keep the car in a zone compatible with EV operation. Using cruise control encourages predictable loads so the hybrid ECU will automaticly seek an optimum mix between ICE and EV. But it is also important to avoid things that force ICE operation.

The ICE will run constantly at speeds above 42 mph. The NHW11 model will run the ICE constantly with defrost set or AC set to MAX.

Bob Wilson

Last edited by bwilson4web; 10-13-2006 at 05:07 AM.
Old 10-13-2006, 01:28 PM

Kind of hard to use cruise control in city streets with lots of stop lights and traffic.

Old 10-13-2006, 01:44 PM
Engineering first
Talking Re: 91.6 MPG

Hi,
Kind of hard to use cruise control in city streets with lots of stop lights and traffic.
Exactly and route planning should be part of any plan to improve MPG: