Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2008, 01:19 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Your Tire Pressure is at...

What psi do you keep your tires at?

Old 01-16-2008, 01:32 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Your Tire Pressure is at...

I matched what a few others were using on the forums. I keep my Michelin Energy S8 tires at 40 psi when cold. They seem to ride fine. I'm not sure what it is about this tire that allows a good ride at that high of pressure.

Old 01-16-2008, 01:54 AM

Slight (uneducated) warning.
Tire pressure is set by the manufacturer to provide the best ride at, presumably, the safest range.
I am not an expert, far from it, but in terms of road handling performance (which can be the difference between safely navigating a tough situation, and not), I'd prefer to have the safest tire pressure. I don't think personal safety should be bargained for with the hope of saving a few pennies at the pump.
If you want to drive safely, follow the manufacturers recommendation.
If you want to save money on gas, walk, ride a bike, car pool, hitch hike or take the bus.
Again, I'm no expert nor have I done any research on this topic, but I believe road handling suffers if you have the pressure set too high.

Old 01-16-2008, 02:16 AM

Originally Posted by haroldo
Slight (uneducated) warning.
Tire pressure is set by the manufacturer to provide the best ride at, presumably, the safest range.
I am not an expert, far from it, but in terms of road handling performance (which can be the difference between safely navigating a tough situation, and not), I'd prefer to have the safest tire pressure. I don't think personal safety should be bargained for with the hope of saving a few pennies at the pump.
If you want to drive safely, follow the manufacturers recommendation.
If you want to save money on gas, walk, ride a bike, car pool, hitch hike or take the bus.