How to calculate MPG

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 10:08 PM
Enthusiast
Post How to calculate MPG

Let me first apologize, I'm totally new to hybrid driving - and I'm curious how you guys are getting the mileage you are getting. My TCH doesn't have the NAV, so it's just the little LCD display.

I'm still on my 1st tank of gas, and it's showing a disappointing 31.5 MPG for tank average . I've hit 40 MPG on the ECO Drive Level a few times practicing the "pulse and glide", but have never achieved the "no arrows" between wheel and battery. I've watched the analog Fuel Economy Meter hit 60 and into e-mode quite a bit, but I have no idea how you guys calculate the 50+ mpg I've been seeing.

Is there additional info on the NAV display that the non-NAV models don't have?

My commute is very much in the city - lots of stop and go, hardly get above 40 for more than 30 seconds before hitting a stop sign or a stop light, that maybe a reason for the disappointing mileage, but maybe you guys can enlighten me?

Thanks.

Old 05-30-2006, 11:53 PM
Default Re: How to calculate MPG

Constant changes in speed will kill mileage. Stopping, then accelerating, then stopping, etc., is really bad for fuel economy, so that's why you get 31.5.

Mileage is calculated by taking the miles traveled on a tank and dividing it by the gallons of gas needed to fill up. If you start with a full tank of gas, travel 500 miles, and refill the tank, and it takes 15 gallons to fill up, then the mileage is 500/15 = 33.3 mpg.

By the way, nobody has 50 mpg over a tank with this car, just over a short duration in some cases. Me, I got 35.3 mpg for my first tank and 37.5 mpg for my second. My third will have more city driving and may be 35-36 mpg.

Old 05-31-2006, 02:15 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by CGameProgrammer
Constant changes in speed will kill mileage. Stopping, then accelerating, then stopping, etc., is really bad for fuel economy, so that's why you get 31.5.