Getting better mpg than I thought I would

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 02:21 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Getting better mpg than I thought I would

I've had my TCH for 4 days now and I must say I'm pleasantly surprised at the mpg I'm getting. Driving around town I can get high 37-38 with the A/C on, and mid-to-high 40's with it off, sometimes in the 50's. On the highway, I can easily get in the 40's without A/C.

I'm still new at this so I'm sure my "scores" will be even better in the future. I will say that I am being very conscious of the ICE and EV modes and doing my best to keep that ICE off.

On one of the 3 routes I can take to work, I got 46 mpg the very first time I tried it. There's a lot of 30 mph roads and so was in EV mode a lot. I'm going to try to break 50. This is my daily commute we're talking about!

Paul

Last edited by wallpad; 09-20-2006 at 02:21 PM. Reason: corrected spelling typo
Old 09-20-2006, 02:27 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Getting better mpg than I thought I would

Good for you

I was around 31MPG but am now around 33MPG avg. My problem is I don't go very far, everything I do is 2 to 4 miles from the house so I stop and go at every light. At times I drive on the Interstate for 5 miles but I drive 80MPH (ish) so that doesn't help.

Good luck with your new toy

Old 09-20-2006, 06:33 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

I'm impressed that some of you guys are doing so well with brand new cars. 40mpg+ with an engine and tires that haven't broken in means that we should expect some really amazing things once the fleet starts to get a few miles on the odometer!

Old 09-21-2006, 07:26 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by cohort
Good for you

I was around 31MPG but am now around 33MPG avg. My problem is I don't go very far, everything I do is 2 to 4 miles from the house so I stop and go at every light. At times I drive on the Interstate for 5 miles but I drive 80MPH (ish) so that doesn't help.