10,000 mile service....Your Thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2009, 08:31 AM
Enthusiast
Default 10,000 mile service....Your Thoughts?

We have a 2009 TCH that is just hitting 10,000. At 5,000 I decided to start using Mobile 1 Filter and 0-20 Mobile 1 oil (at my local Mobil service station).......I did not have my tires rotated then. I have never used the synthetic Mobile 1 oil before. At 10,000 miles should I just rotate my tires......or do you think the oil needs changed too. I am just not familiar with a "normal" interval for oil changes with the synthetics.

Old 01-05-2009, 10:11 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 10,000 mile service....Your Thoughts?

5000 miles for oil and tires
it's all in the manual

Old 01-05-2009, 10:13 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by MplsTCH
We have a 2009 TCH that is just hitting 10,000. At 5,000 I decided to start using Mobile 1 Filter and 0-20 Mobile 1 oil (at my local Mobil service station).......I did not have my tires rotated then. I have never used the synthetic Mobile 1 oil before. At 10,000 miles should I just rotate my tires......or do you think the oil needs changed too. I am just not familiar with a "normal" interval for oil changes with the synthetics.
Even though the oil might still have substantial useful life, to comply with the letter of the warranty you must follow the prescribed scheduled. Every 5000 miles you are to change the oil, rotate the tires, and check the brakes. Some intervals (such as the 15000) have other items as well.

Old 01-05-2009, 01:52 PM
Active Enthusiast

We just did an oil change on our RXh and switched to Toyota/Lexus 0w20 synth at 11k.

I asked the service guy if 11k was too early to switch to all-synth. I don't remember his exact words, but have the impression he thought 10k would be about the right time. I'm wondering if 5k was too soon? If the engine wasn't fully broken in yet?