Off Topic Politics, life, gadgets, people... gobbledygook.
View Poll Results: Flashing High-Beams Sparingly...
Is proper use - avoids road rage
76.00%
Should be used more frequently
24.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Flashing High-Beams Sparingly...

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2005, 08:55 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Flashing High-Beams Sparingly...

As a young driver I was not aware of all these different ideas about flashing your lights - Although I was aware it may be a signal to say there are police upahead or that there is someone in your backseat waiting to kill you..(I thought I would add a little humour) Ever hear that Urban Legend?

Old 12-16-2005, 08:58 AM
Banned

On the way to collage, I was stopped by an officer. He was irritated I did not dim my lights and nearly gave me a ticket. Honest, it was an electrical problem....

Old 12-18-2005, 02:24 AM
Active Enthusiast

There is the general flashing at oncoming traffic that appears to, or did forget to change to low beam when driving. Guilty of leaving them on myself on some long trips down empty back roads, but the flashing to pass I have not found much in my experience. If I have had someone flash thier lights, they would pull up beside me, tempting me to race. This happened much more often in my previous car ... a RX-7. An interesting piece of information about this car related to this subject. There are two lenses i know for sure on the 86-91 models that are very commonly known as Flash-To-Pass lenses you can buy with or with out additional daytime running lamps, the flash actually comes from the high beam when the flip up headlights are down. http://www.mazdatrix.com/n-1a.htm

I have always thought it was common knowledge to signal semi trucks to let them know they are clear to pull back over and I have found that most of them will give you the thank you flash in return as others had said. I have done this many times especially when I am keeping right conserving fuel/obeying speed limits.