Journalism & The Media Television, radio, movies, newspapers, magazines, the Internet and more.

Canadian Article: Hybrids don't save money at all!

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2006, 01:11 PM
04 prius 350,000km
Default Re: Canadian Article: Hybrids don't save money at all!

see if I was an american then maybe owning a hybrid wouldn't be as "expensive" because you guys get the crazy tax credit and cheaper prices! As a Canadian if you truly want to save money then drive what I drive and turn off your own ICE!

Although I really hope the premium does drop as a Canadian though... 10 K extra is way too much... maybe 5 then I'll consider.

But Schawa... if you were to buy a prius from the states lets say... then there can be possible potenial savings but I'm not going to give 100 percent on this answer since I have no experience myself. Judging from the ebay priuses and what you have to do to import a car into Canada... it doesn't seem that bad at all.

A neighbor who owns a Navigator asked me "How long will it take for the hybridization option to pay for itself?"

My response, It'll pay for itself much quicker than your options will pay for themselves.
haha owned! But seriously these days a young person will go (In canadian point of view) a new GOLF GTI with over 240 horsepower or a Prius ... they cost exactly the same and in some cases... one can be more fun than the other. Its a shame people don't take global warming seriously because every little bit helps! Also I like quiet cars and the Prius fits into that category very well.

Quick question for Schawa, when cruising on the highway which is more quiet. Your prius or the cobalt?

Last edited by philmcneal; 03-02-2006 at 01:15 PM.
Old 03-02-2006, 02:48 PM
Happy Hybrid Owner

Originally Posted by AshenGrey
Yeah yeah yeah... The hybrid-haters' old drum beat of "You don't recoup the cost of investment" is just plain BORING.

How long does it take someone to "break even" on buying a "turbo" option?