Non hypermilers...MPG? Newbie here....

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 07:06 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Non hypermilers...MPG? Newbie here....

Me me me!! I got a manual trany! I got it because I love driving, not 'driving'. If you want one, you're obviously stuck with 2005 or older.

As for gas mileage, I get upper 30s in cool weather (30-50F, wet....Seattle...) and mid to upper 40s in warmer weather (mid 60s). My time is more valuable than my gas dollars, so I drive at least 20 over the limit...pretty much everywhere. Acceleration, well...I suppose I'm 50/50 for being slow and fast.

I've found the 90ish hp to be perfectly fine for me. I have no qualms about merging onto a freeway. It is just me in the car 99% of the time, in terms of weight considerations (and I'm a light guy). Granted, I will never be able to tow anything with this car.

Old 07-28-2006, 07:10 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

I drive like a normal car for the most part, doing very subtle things to improve economy without hypermiling. My lifetime is 44.x MPG and that's 99% highway miles (I commute 160 miles a day averaging between 65 and 75 mph). Since I have the summer off the last tank is my only true all-city tank and I got 39 MPG with no conservation efforts at all.

As for power, I find it to have completely sufficient power for regular driving and for gunning it when needed. I can get up to freeway speed on a short on-ramp with no problems at all. If I want I can beat people off the crosswalk at a stoplight. Don't get hung up on the stats, this is a small lightweight car and it has PLENTY of horespower for its mass.

Last edited by zimbop; 07-28-2006 at 07:13 PM.
Old 07-29-2006, 12:05 AM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by realist