Moonroof in 2006 HCH?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2006, 10:27 AM
Enthusiast
Question Moonroof in 2006 HCH?

Has anyone installed an after market moonroof in the 2006 Civic Hybrid? We just ordered a new HCH and would really like to add a moonroof -- unless it's a disaster in the making. Anyone out there with experience to share?

Old 05-05-2006, 10:34 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Moonroof in 2006 HCH?

Please search the forum. There are plenty of discussions on the subject that will help make your decision.

Old 05-05-2006, 10:38 AM
Active Enthusiast

I have a car with the moonroof . I fount no use for it. What is your desire(s) to have a moonroof? I found that it would create more drag and noise.

Old 05-05-2006, 11:07 AM
Enthusiast

Thanks - I should have done that first. I'm new to this! (and to Hybrids!)

Old 05-05-2006, 11:08 AM
Enthusiast

Just like the fresh air. Hoped the drag wouldn't be too bad. Don't mind the noise.

Old 05-05-2006, 11:24 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by subo
Thanks - I should have done that first. I'm new to this! (and to Hybrids!)
No problem. The only reason I even thought that is because there is an active discussion a couple of threads down that I think had a lot of good information.

Old 05-05-2006, 11:25 AM
Proud owner HCHII

A word of caution, I read that Honda thought that the extra weight of strengthening the roof would count against fuel economy. Be careful that the one you are thinking of installing does not flex and creak - ask to have a ride in a car that already has a saitisfied owner. Leaking in rain is another potential hazard of an after-build.

Old 05-05-2006, 01:24 PM
enthusiast of some sort

Hello,

About the noise.... I had an aftermarket moonroof installed on my Explorer and it was most quiet completely open. When I popped it up for ventilation, It whistled between 30 and 60 MPH. The whistling went away after figuring out the sweet spot.